It's come to my attention that unfortunately there are people who take award shows like the Brits way too seriously. My twitter was full of people telling One Direction to f*** off, that they are an embarrassment and much worse that I don't feel like repeating. Like don't get me wrong, of course it's fine to have an opinion, but that's taking it a little far, no? At the end of the day they're artists just like every other nominee, so what if they win an award? If you didn't want them to win, you should have voted for the other nominees.
But I'm not just ranting to defend One Direction. Oh no, I want to discuss the 'wanna be hipsters' who have to disagree with the majority of people on twitter. For example, on twitter everyone was saying how much they loved Bastille, how they're such nice guys and they deserve every award they get...but of course you're always going to get the odd few who have to completely slate them for no reason. And the thing is you know it's not even because they dislike them, it's because 'liking Bastille is too mainstream'. It just really annoys me. And it happens every year. Like fair enough you want your hipster indie band to win everything, but that doesn't mean you have to go round slating every other nominee.
So my advice to people like this:
1)Stop taking it so seriously! It's an awards show for gods sake. It's not going to impact your life whatsoever. 2)Stop trying to come across as this hipster who's taste in music is so superior to everybody else's. Swearing your mouth off when One Direction win an award...grow the hell up.
3)vote next time and stop complaining
There's having an opinion and then there's shoving your views down someone's throat. Learn the difference.
Sorry for the slight rage in this post, but it needed to be said.
Till next time
Katherine x

No comments:
Post a Comment