Sunday, 23 February 2014

Once An Interest, Now An Obsession

Hello! Been a while, last time I did a rant and actually quite enjoyed it. So today I thought I'd bless you all once again with the pleasure of my opinions. So with that lets get started.

Fangirls. A group of people very well known in todays generation. In case you don't know, fangirls are basically a group of dedicated, loyal and could be argued highly obsessive fans. They don't necessarily have to be girls, but most of the time these fans are girls. Now before you make any assumptions I'm not here to completely slate fangirls. I think every teenager in this generation has an inner fangirl, for example I fan girl over Coldplay, Lana Del Ray, Bastille and many more. I even find myself being the stereotypical fangirl sometimes and go into One Direction phases. But anyway moving on.

Now in todays world, with the power of Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, YouTube etc all these obsessions people have are being heightened as they can access information, videos, pictures gifs all on the internet. And its endless. For example I could spend hours on YouTube searching different acoustic performances from Ed Sheeran, and in truth, I have!

Now keeping this in mind, I believe this is where it gets mostly out of control. Because we have so much access to all this information, it makes us delve deeper into our obsessions. However no matter how obsessed with something you may be, I offer advice: Whatever you do, never get too serious about your obsession and remember everyone has a different opinion.

 I know this may seem like an odd piece of advice but hear me out.
'Beliebers' for example are known for their incredibly obsessive and annoying nature. Now if you are a 'Belieber' I am not discussing you directly, just your general fanbase. I believe that if most of Justin Bieber's fans weren't  incredibly ignorant and immature, Justin Bieber wouldn't get half as much hate as he does. In my opinion, fangirls ruined Justin Bieber's reputation. Now I know that is a very controversial thing to say, but I think its true. Everyone now associates Justin Bieber with his army of 9 year old girls who will cut your head off if you say anything against him.
The same goes for One Direction and their 'Directioners', although not to Bieber's extent.

I know it pretty much just a maturity thing, and most of these young girls will grow out of it, but they're embarrassing themselves and when I go on twitter and see 9 year old girls getting into fights with 20 year olds over Justin Bieber, I physically cringe. Like this for example:
(Sorry for the explicit language)


Slight rant. Hope it made sense.
Till next time
Katherine x

Wednesday, 19 February 2014

Seriously



Right okay. So the it was the night of the Brit awards tonight. Pretty well recognised as a big deal, twitter was going mental all night obviously. But one thing stuck out for me and has done every year with the Brits and other award shows.

It's come to my attention that unfortunately there are people who take award shows like the Brits way too seriously. My twitter was full of people telling One Direction to f*** off, that they are an embarrassment and much worse that I don't feel like repeating. Like don't get me wrong, of course it's fine to have an opinion, but that's taking it a little far, no? At the end of the day they're artists just like every other nominee, so what if they win an award? If you didn't want them to win, you should have voted for the other nominees. 

But I'm not just ranting to defend One Direction. Oh no, I want to discuss the 'wanna be hipsters' who have to disagree with the majority of people on twitter. For example, on twitter everyone was saying how much they loved Bastille,  how they're such nice guys and they deserve every award they get...but of course you're always going to get the odd few who have to completely slate them for no reason. And the thing is you know it's not even because they dislike them, it's because 'liking Bastille is too mainstream'. It just really annoys me. And it happens every year. Like fair enough you want your hipster indie band to win everything, but that doesn't mean you have to go round slating every other nominee. 

So my advice to people like this: 
1)Stop taking it so seriously! It's an awards show for gods sake. It's not going to impact your life whatsoever. 2)Stop trying to come across as this hipster who's taste in music is so superior to everybody else's. Swearing your mouth off when One Direction win an award...grow the hell up. 
3)vote next time and stop complaining 
There's having an opinion and then there's shoving your views down someone's throat. Learn the difference. 

Sorry for the slight rage in this post, but it needed to be said.

Till next time
Katherine x

Sunday, 16 February 2014

Slothful Sundays

Hello again! I was just sitting around, not doing anything productive and then thought "Why don't I write a blog post about it? So here it is, my traditional Sunday.

I'm not sure if everyone has this, but for me, Sundays are always the same. I always wake up late, I always have breakfast in the afternoon, I always get changed late afternoon and I always end up searching ridiculous things into YouTube for a good few hours before I realise its the evening. And this is repeated the following Sunday too, and the one after that and the one after that.

Now, as a student in her last year of high school, this is a problem. I get a lot of homework on the weekends, but I'm normally quite productive so its never been too much of an issue. But lately, I've felt as though I've stumbled into this void of laziness that has no clear escape.
Its awful, I tell myself I'm going to get all my work done on the Saturday...come the end of Saturday and what a surprise, its not done. Then I tell myself I will get all my work done on the Sunday...come the end of Sunday and its still not done. This then resorts to me copying my friends homework in tutor before lessons start, and me not actually learning anything.

The thing is though, I never used to be like this. In fact, I used to get all my work done on the Saturday, but now my general laziness paired with the curse of Sunday results in me being incredibly unproductive. Some maybe wondering what I mean by the curse of Sunday.
I can't explain it, but Sunday is the day where nobody can be arsed to do anything! Its just such a chill day, especially for me. All I do is eat biscuits, make countless cups of tea and watch Disney films. And when I try to be productive, when I sit down at my desk and tell myself I'm going to do that Physics worksheet, I just end up spinning on my chair and singing along to Tom Odell; getting no work done.

For example, right now I have plenty of work I could be getting on with; I have a Drama monologue to write, I have an English exam questions to answer, I have Maths revision to do, RE revision to do, I have a French writing assessment to learn...but I'm just sitting in my room, wearing an oversized 'I Love Roma' jumper and blue joggers writing a blog post about this.
This is what people mean when they discuss the true art that is procrastination.

Till next time
Katherine x

Saturday, 15 February 2014

Positives

Good afternoon!
I appreciate that most bloggers don't blog everyday, but as I'm new and I really enjoy it I figured why not?

I realised yesterday after publishing my first post that I hadn't explained the title of this blog; Watershed. Unfortunately there isn't any deep meaningful story behind this. In truth, I was setting up the blog and saw a template that said Water...something, apologies for I can't remember. But anyway  it got me thinking and I thought of the word Watershed, which means a dramatic event that changes the course of history (we studied this in RE at school). So yes it may sound a tad melodramatic but I thought it was quite appropriate for me personally, as this is something new I want to try out and it may end up changing up my life a little.

So that's that. So onto today, I'm quite under the weather, which is very annoying as my half term has just started where in which I get a week off school. However I suppose its better to be ill on a holiday where you don't have to get up early and do anything than have to wake up early and be at school the whole day, so as my mum would say "Positives Katherine positives".  In truth I haven't got any plans for my half term anyway. For now it's mostly revision that I'm focussing on as I have my GCSE exams coming up this summer which to be honest with you I'm terrified about. So for the time being, my half term is going to be reading over notes and doing practice questions; don't you all just envy me?

Having said that, I do have one plan this half term. I'm going into school on Thursday (by choice) to rehearse my Drama exam. So technically I guess this counts as revision also, and I'm sure a lot of you may be thinking why I would choose to go into school during a break, but in all honesty I love Drama. It's my favourite subject at school and I hope in the future I end up in the performance field and get to actually earn money from it. Plus when I say "exam", you're examined in Drama in a different way to most subjects. For example in English its a written exam , whereas in Drama we are given a theme and have to create a piece from scratch interpreting that theme. Our theme is Contrast, which is good as its not anything specific so it leaves plenty room for creativity.

Apologies for that little Drama ramble, I may end up doing a separate blog post on Drama as a whole because I could talk about it for hours.
But anyway I'm very much looking forward to the week ahead, as although I have work to do, I don't wake up at half 7. Sleep is a teenagers kryptonite.

Till next time
Katherine x

Friday, 14 February 2014

Copy Cat

Now I'm assuming nobody is going to end up reading this. I'm most likely not going to tell anyone about it and I'm sure nobody is going to find it. So with that said, lets get started.

Right so one of my close friends at school let me in on her little blogging secret and since then I've been attached to the idea. In the past I would have found something like this quite odd, but I have always been one to write down my feelings and secrets, for example I've been keeping a diary for about 5 years that nobody has ever read (and I hope it stays that way) and I just like the idea of writing everything down. It allows me to de-stress and saves me from having to tell people. Also I find it quite amusing to read back really old entries and just laugh and cringe at my stupidity and awful grammar.

Back to the point, I have to say I'm being a bit of a Copy Cat, so if by any chance someone does come across this blog please go check out my friend who is definitely a million miles better than this will ever be. Her link will be below.

I may end up deleting this blog, but for now I'm terribly bored and it seems like quite a nice hobby to have so I'll think about it. However it may end up being one of those stupid late night decisions that you really regret come the next day but hey ho.

I don't even know if this is how blogs are written, I guess I'll have to do some research. So for the time being I'll leave you with a basic introduction;
Hello, my name is Katherine O'Brien and I'm a 16 year old who clearly has way too much time on her hands.

Till next time
Katherine x
Shannon's blog: http://shannonxx8697.blogspot.co.uk/